Library Resources: Edgar Allan Poe: Find Articles

Find Articles

Start with GCC's Primo search or databases listed by subject, found here. For Poe, you might want to look through the General, English & Literature, or Historical databases.

Helpful Hint!

When looking up content, I recommend searching Poe AND whatever topic you are wanting more information about. Utilizing Boolean Operators in your search can help you get better results! Boolean operators are words like AND, OR, and NOT used in search queries to refine results. AND narrows results by requiring all terms to be present, OR broadens results by including any of the terms, and NOT excludes specific terms from the results. Quotation marks provides results with the exact phrase.

For Example: Poe AND grief, Poe AND isolation, or "Edgar Allan Poe" AND Annabel Lee, etc.

Featured Literature Databases

Literature Criticism Online
Provides full text pdf-only access to Short Story Criticism, Poetry Criticism, and Drama Criticism.
Gale Reference -- Literature
This collection brings together a large collection of reference works in literary criticism and literature form the database Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Salem Literature
Includes access literary criticism and overviews via Critical Insights, Critical Surveys, Magill's Literary Annuals, and Masterplots publications.

Featured Articles

Poe or Not Poe?
Edgar Allan Poe has left us with a literary legacy that in part lacks a definitive stamp of authenticity. While some of the ‘possible Poes’ that have been dis-covered after his death have generated heated discussion among scholars, many others have quickly slipped into obscurity. This paper reevaluates thirty-two of such prose texts as well as ten poems that have been tenuously attributed to Poe in the past. By contrasting and comparing the ‘author signal’ behind these pieces with unclear authorship, this analysis is able to answer with a high degree of accuracy the question: Poe or not Poe?
Paranoia, Neurotic Trauma, and Re-Traumatization as the Triad of Psychic Monomania in Edgar Allan Poe’s “The Tell-Tale Heart”
This paper attempts to explore paranoia and trauma as the causes of psychological monomania in Edgar Allan Poe’s “The Tell-Tale Heart.” The study focuses on the gradual development of the narrator’s paranoia stimulated by his aversive feelings toward the old man’s eagle eye.
Edgar Allan Poe: “The Black Cat,” and Current Forensic Psychology
In “The Black Cat,” Poe created a narrator who lacks remorse, empathy, and a conscience, a character who deceives and manipulates those around him because of an impulsive, egocentric personality known as psychopathy. Poe created a textbook psychopathic personality, leaving out none of the traits, even though the currently accepted definition of psychopathy was not agreed upon until the early 1990s. Through this narrator, Poe reveals the inner workings of a criminal type that public defenders of Poe's time, along with scientists and the public, agreed should not be held accountable for their crimes.
Edgar Allan Poe's Gothic Aesthetics of Things: Rereading “The Fall of the House of Usher”
By maneuvering the power of evil things at the narrative's “story” level and “discourse” level, Poe creates the horrible uncanny effects that epitomize his Gothic aesthetics of things.

Edgar Allan Poe

Find Articles

Search for Online Articles

Featured Literature Databases

Featured Articles