Known for its unprecedented depth of coverage, this comprehensive career research database is organized into three main sections: Through Industries and Careers, users can explore a multitude of industries, career fields, and professions; Plan Your Education helps users find the schools that fit them best; and Launch Your Career offers solid advice to help users perfect the skills that beget success. The material draws from a range of authoritative sources, including more than 880 updated articles and entries from the Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, 16th Edition. A new "From Our Career Experts" section features regular blog posts with an archive of more than 2,300 posts.
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reports that employment in all computer occupations is expected to increase by 22% by 2020. Give your students and researchers the information they need to learn about the many, varied career paths in information technology with our latest Careers title. Careers in Information Technology examines 25 potential career paths in Information Technology, including: Computer Engineer Computer Programmer Robotics Technician Database Administrator Information Security Analyst Multimedia Artist & Animator Software Developer Web Administrator . Information-packed chapters provide real-world information about these in-demand professions, including: A Day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Employment Outlook, Networking Contacts, Areas with the Highest Employment Levels, and Conversations with Real Professionals.
Call Number: GCC Main -- CARCOLL - HF5382.7 .G76 2012
Tech Job Hunt Handbook is a career management book--just for technology professionals--that reflects today's new economic realities. The world of work is constantly changing, and staying professionally relevant while competing for more specialized tech jobs in areas like cloud computing, mobile and social applications, and big data in a highly competitive global economy is critical. The world is churning out hungry programmers and developers in record numbers, making the global labor market highly competitive. It is now essential to plan a campaign to get a better job as well as your overall career. Retooling your skills and re-branding yourself is mandatory whether you're seeking a new job or intent on retaining current employment. Readers of the Tech Job Hunt Handbook will find tools, practical guidance, and recommendations on how to find the best new tech jobs, how to get noticed, how to ace interviews and get hired, and how to keep those new jobs--until it's time for a better one. As you will learn, learning how to assess and then invest in career management skills leads to long-term competitive advantage and a happier working life. Tech Job Hunt Handbook--for recent graduates, risk-taking innovators, and tech veterans alike--shows how to build a comprehensive online professional profile, identify the companies you're interested in and who you know at those companies, approach interviews with confidence, uncover opportunities in your current company, and understand the new emerging technology markets that could lead to a career rebirth. This book will help you: Find a new or better tech job. Stay relevant and employable despite constant new developments. Manage your tech career for long-term success.
Call Number: GCC Main -- CARCOLL - TA157 .C477 2013
Fast-Tracking Your Career provides engineers and IT professionals with a complete set of soft skills they can use to become more effective on the job and gain recognition from management and colleagues. The 11 core skills covered here are accompanied by more than 40 detailed guidelines on how to master those skills. The book offers first-rate advice on how to go about acquiring communication skills, people skills, presentation skills, time management skills, and others. Specific examples about current situations are discussed, exploring the impact of the Facebook phenomenon and the subprime mortgage crisis. Visit the author's website for more information: www.FastTrackingCareers.com
Become the applicant Google can't turn down Cracking the Tech Career is the job seeker's guide to landing a coveted position at one of the top tech firms. A follow-up to The Google Resume, this book provides new information on what these companies want, and how to show them you have what it takes to succeed in the role. Early planners will learn what to study, and established professionals will discover how to make their skillset and experience set them apart from the crowd. Author Gayle Laakmann McDowell worked in engineering at Google, and interviewed over 120 candidates as a member of the hiring committee - in this book, she shares her perspectives on what works and what doesn't, what makes you desirable, and what gets your resume saved or deleted. Apple, Microsoft, and Google are the coveted companies in the current job market. They field hundreds of resumes every day, and have their pick of the cream of the crop when it comes to selecting new hires. If you think the right alma mater is all it takes, you need to update your thinking. Top companies, especially in the tech sector, are looking for more. This book is the complete guide to becoming the candidate they just cannot turn away. Discover the career paths that run through the top tech firms Learn how to craft the prefect resume and prepare for the interview Find ways to make yourself stand out from the hordes of other applicants Understand what the top companies are looking for, and how to demonstrate that you're it These companies need certain skillsets, but they also want a great culture fit. Grades aren't everything, experience matters, and a certain type of applicant tends to succeed. Cracking the Tech Career reveals what the hiring committee wants, and shows you how to get it.
Call Number: GCC Main & North -- CARCOLL - QA76.6 .M34 2015
I am not a recruiter. I am a software engineer. And as such, I know what it's like to be asked to whip up brilliant algorithms on the spot and then write flawless code on a whiteboard. I've been through this as a candidate and as an interviewer. Cracking the Coding Interview, 6th Edition is here to help you through this process, teaching you what you need to know and enabling you to perform at your very best. I've coached and interviewed hundreds of software engineers. The result is this book. Learn how to uncover the hints and hidden details in a question, discover how to break down a problem into manageable chunks, develop techniques to unstick yourself when stuck, learn (or re-learn) core computer science concepts, and practice on 189 interview questions and solutions. These interview questions are real; they are not pulled out of computer science textbooks. They reflect what's truly being asked at the top companies, so that you can be as prepared as possible. WHAT'S INSIDE? - 189 programming interview questions, ranging from the basics to the trickiest algorithm problems. - A walk-through of how to derive each solution, so that you can learn how to get there yourself. - Hints on how to solve each of the 189 questions, just like what you would get in a real interview. - Five proven strategies to tackle algorithm questions, so that you can solve questions you haven't seen. - Extensive coverage of essential topics, such as big O time, data structures, and core algorithms. - A behind the scenes look at how top companies like Google and Facebook hire developers. - Techniques to prepare for and ace the soft side of the interview: behavioral questions. - For interviewers and companies: details on what makes a good interview question and hiring process.
Aspiring and professional game developers have a lot of questions: What should be in their portfolios? How do they make contacts? How do they negotiate salaries? How much do game designers make? What should they wear to interviews? In this fast-paced and humorous guide, the authors answer these questions and many more, including the ones you didn't know to ask. BREAKING INTO THE GAME INDUSTRY: ADVICE FOR A SUCCESSFUL CAREER FROM THOSE WHO HAVE DONE IT, provides aspiring game developers the know-how and confidence they need to make it in the industry. Written in a unique and engaging question and answer format, the book presents a clear, overall sense of what the game industry is and how the professionals operate in it, answering the key questions new developers should be asking as they begin their career. Providing invaluable advice and tips from experienced professionals, you'll learn how to best present yourself and your skills, showcase your work and create a compelling portfolio, and much more, giving you a leg up as you try to break into the competitive and fast-paced game industry.
Be prepared for your next job interview with this tried-and-true advice In today's tight job market, competition for programming jobs is hotter than ever. This third edition of a popular guide to programming interviews includes new code examples, information on the latest languages, new chapters on sorting and design patterns, tips on using LinkedIn, and a downloadable app to help prepare applicants for the interview. Like its earlier editions, this guide covers what software companies and IT departments want their programmers to know and includes plenty of helpful hints to boost your confidence. Looks at current job search and hiring processes, such as the rise of LinkedIn and other social networks as recruiting resources Addresses the most important languages for a programmer to know and features examples in multiple languages Includes new programming questions designed to sharpen your knowledge Features all-new chapters on design patterns and sorting, including how to deal with memory constraints and mobility issues Walk into your next job interview with confidence, knowing you have thoroughly studied this newest edition of Programming Interviews Exposed.