Chemistry (General )

"Although written for the high school student, this concise, readable, and authoritative source presents any science learner with a clear introduction to chemistry. The 480 entries cover all aspects of chemistry and its practical applications. A running glossary explains words as they are encountered in the text, and most entries have accompanying diagrams and photographs."--"Reference that rocks," American Libraries, May 2005.

Scientists, engineers, and technologists in many fields need a knowledge of chemistry because of the importance of chemistry in diverse technologies. In addition, to "classical" topics of chemistry, the new Encyclopedia covers nanotechnology, fuel cell technology, green chemistry, forensic chemistry, supramolecular chemistry, combinatorial chemistry, materials chemistry, and proteomics. This fifth print edition has been revised and updated, and includes over 200 new articles, as well as 1,300 updated articles.

1471 new definitions, 5,236 revised or updated definitions, a new Chemical Abstract Number index, and an update of all trademarks Significant expansion of both chemical and biochemical terms including the addition of biochemical terms in the emerging fields in biology and biological engineering such as synthetic biology, highlighting the merging of the sciences of chemistry and biology Updates and expands the extensive data on chemicals, trade name products, and chemistry-related definitions Adds entries for notable chemists and Nobel Prize winners, equipment and devices, natural forms and minerals, named reactions, and chemical processes Update on toxicological profiles

Provides students and researchers with an easy-to-understand introduction to the fundamentals of chemistry, from elements and molecules to chemical reactions and properties of matter.

Describes the structure, chemical properties, common compounds, and practical uses for each element.

In a world with access to unlimited amounts of data, how can users who need to make critical scientific and technical decisions find high quality, reliable data? Today, more than ever, the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics remains a hallmark of quality. For over 100 years, the Handbook has provided property data on chemical compounds (now over 20,000) and all physical particles that have been reported in the literature, carefully reviewed by subject experts. Every year older collections are updated with the latest values and new areas will be added as science progresses.

In 1869 Dmitri Mendeleev presented the world with the Periodic Table. It contained 63 elements, many more than the four--earth, water, fire, and air--established in the ancient world, but less than half the total in our modern table. Mendeleev believed there were many elements still to come. He was right.

With over 300 illustrations, this essential guide to the Periodic Table, tracks the history of a powerful yet elegant tool that lays bare the building blocks of the Universe. The journey begins just as the first cities are forming, and follows the contributions made by philosophers, alchemists, industrialists, and great scientists as they gather force to create this masterpiece of accumulated knowledge. The story includes Democritus of ancient Greece who said that the four elements of nature must be made of atoms; otherwise our world is just an illusion, and the French aristocrat Antoine Lavoisier, who was the first to show that water is not an element at all.

From the ancient Greek philosophers to the alchemist who boiled urine until it glowed in the dark, to the British inventor who described the powerful effect of electricity on a dead body to Mary Shelley (before she wrote Frankenstein) to the theologian who observed mice becoming unconscious when dangled over brewing beer, the discovery of the elements is a story with many chapters. The thoughts and deeds of great thinkers always make great stories and here are a hundred of the most significant. Each story relates a confounding puzzle that became a discovery and changed the way we see the world. We call these Ponderables.

Includes a removable fold-out concertina neatly housed in the back of the book. This fold-out provides a 12-page Timeline History of the Periodic Table that embeds the story of chemistry in historical context and shows Who Did What When at a glance. On the reverse side is a 12-page Chart of Elements in Atomic Order providing scientific data for all 118 elements