HIS102: Genocide Research

Also Available Online via Gale eBooks - NOTE: you may have to use the drop down selector to access information about genocides in various volumes (listed alphabetically). This four-volume work provides students with a close examination of 10 modern genocides (Armenia, Bosnia, Cambodia, Darfur, East Timor, Guatemala, Herero (Namibia), the WWII Holocaust in Europe, Kurdish, and Rwandan) enhanced by primary source documents and introductions that provide additional historical and contemporary context for learning about and understanding these tragic events. Addresses not only the sobering reality of these different modern genocides but the pervasive, long-term consequences and impact on the communities affected by them.

Also Available online via Gale eBooks - This book documents the devastating effects of genocide in the world's most destructive human environments since the end of World War II and explores why such events still occur.

Over 600 terms identify and explain the history and suffering of ethnic and religious groups experiencing genocide throughout the world. The people, places, governments, agencies, documents, legal terms, and all other aspects of genocide are defined for new students and scholars alike.

Includes entries on Gypsies, homosexuals, Polish Jewery (and Poles), Jewish women, Jehovah's Witesses. etc. For the entry on disabled persons see Euthanasia entry.

"Statistics of Democide" has two purposes. First, it links all the relevant estimates, sources, and calculations for each of the case studies in Death by Government, and all additional cases of lesser democide for which data have been collected. The value of this is the listing of each source, its estimate, and comments qualifying the estimate. From these others can check and evaluate author Rudolph Rummel's totals, refine and correct them, and build on this comprehensive set of data. These data are presented and annotated for pre-20th-century democide for the megamurderers and for the United States and lesser murderers. All data sources referenced in the democide tables are listed in the references. The methodological underpinnings for this collection have been given in Rummel's previous work, i. e. Death by Government. Second, having finished collecting all these data and completing the major case studies Rummel finally could systematically test the assumed inverse relationship between democracy and democide. That is the substance of this book. Rummel details the tests and summarizes them. Conclusion is that the diverse tests are positive and robust, that the less liberal democracy and the more totalitarian a regime, the more likely it will commit democide. The closer to absolute power, the more a regime's disposition to murder one's subjects or foreigners multiplies. As far as this work is concerned, Rummel concludes: "it is empirically true that Power kills, absolute Power kills absolutely."

Both concise and wide-ranging, this encyclopedia covers massacres, atrocities, war crimes, and genocides, including acts of inhumanity on all continents; and serves as a reminder that lest we forget, history will repeat itself. * Provides coverage of atrocities, massacres, and war crimes that is wide-ranging in scope and historical perspective, covering everything from genocides to isolated actions that constituted grave breaches of the laws of war * Comprises contributions from over 200 scholars, including international law experts currently prosecuting war crimes * Contains a lengthy chronology of major atrocities throughout history * Written in accessible and clear language appropriate for college freshmen and general readers