Library Resources: HIS102: Genocide Research: Find Articles

Find Scholarly Articles

Search for Online Articles

If you need help finding an article... Ask a Librarian!

Featured Article Databases

Gale World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students. Content is aligned with state and national curriculum standards and is cross searchable with U.S. History In Context.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with more extensive full text holdings than Academic Search Premier, including over 9,000 full text journals. Includes 459 unique titles (54% of its collection) as compared to current GCC Library databases.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journal articles in a variety of subjects dating back to the year of first publication for each journal. Includes historical pamphlets and a separate image search feature.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 900 full text journals and magazines in addition to more than 250 full text books and monographs in the field of sociology. Includes 459 unique periodical titles (54% of its collection) as compared to current GCC Library databases.
Gale eBooks (Gale Virtual Reference) This link opens in a new window
For in depth BACKGROUND information on various genocides. Links primarily to specialized reference sources.

Featured Journals

Journal of Genocide Research
Cross-disciplinary journal that promotes the scholarly study of genocide and related phenomena, like crimes against humanity, war crimes, and violence against civilians. It publishes articles on the history of these phenomena from all periods.
Journal of Refugee Studies
Academic exploration of the complex problems of forced migration & national & international responses.
Human Rights Quarterly
Provides information on important developments within the United Nations, and governmental and non-governmental regional human rights organizations. The journal highlights current work in human rights research and policy analysis, reviews of related books, and philosophical essays probing the fundamental nature of human rights as defined by the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.